GATE 7 – speed 3d scene

This was done in around 5-7 hours as an exercise of speed modeling in Blender. The idea was to create a little scene that could serve as a set where I could place cameras and take shots at varying angles and focal points. In the end I used the Blender Game mode to add crude light and mood. I didn’t use anything but default materials except for some of the neons and LEDs (where i just set a color and a >0 value for emit) and some fog. That’s it, the idea was to achieve a 3d base for overpainting with the most basic of tools in a short time. As for the mannequins that populate the scene I chose not to go with DAZ because they would take too much to pose, export, import, place, correct issues, re-pose, re-import, rinse and repeat. Therefore I made those bulky mannequins that i could twist on the spot.

I am definetly going to streamline my 3d piepline for 2d illustration, the advantages are great in a concept art environment.

iso1

iso3

iso2

assets_all

foto0

foto1

foto3

foto4

foto5

foto6

foto7

foto8

foto9

foto24

foto20

foto23

foto21

foto22

Here are some shots I took while trying to light the scene. I had in mind a Mars base / medium distress type of mood. In the end I went all Alien 3 on it 🙂

foto14

foto16

foto13

foto17

foto12

foto191

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

