Vanitas WIP – part deux

…and almost done! I’ve decided to post stages of my work because I know people like to see how things evolve. I think I nailed it with the colors of the main elements, but next time I’ll start from the background up, because I find it harder to keep the contour lines untouched while I fill in the background color.

Step 1: Blocking the volumes and giving the overall shading

1

 

Step 2: More blocking in…

2

 

Step 3: Adding the color

3

 

Step 4: More color…From now on it’s basically reinforcing every layer I’ve already put on the canvas.

4

 

Step 5: Making the first approach for the background color.

5

 

Step 6:  I add more depth to the shading

6

 

Step 7:  I reinforce the lines and make the skull pop

7

 

Step 8:  I lay down a couple of background layer and fix the girl’s hair, in addition to adding more detail on the man. I’m close to finish now!

8

My next post will be about the finished piece and … I’ll probably do it this weekend. Or at least that’s the plan. Cheers to you!


One comment


Leave a Reply

